Cinnamon Buns

I finally made them! With Easter brunch, I figured there was no better time than to finally make the cinnamon buns that I have always drooled over but never gotten around to making. The only problem this time was, what recipe to use? I have been pinning and bookmarking cinnamon bun recipes for months at this point. Would it be rustic cinnamon rolls for two (times five…) or the “best almond flour cinnamon roll biscuits”? I also had paleo pumpkin ones, candy cane frosted, or bananas foster cinnamon rolls. And then a recipe just called cinnamon rolls, no grains, gluten, dairy or refined sugar. I initially decided to do no extra flavors (although I can assure you, I will be coming back to that candy cane frosted recipe—it just may not be until next Christmas at this rate). Comparing the other recipes, I needed cinnamon rolls for ten, not two, so the rustic rolls were out. With the other ones, I didn’t really want to use 4 cups of almond flour (that gets expensive!) or 1 cup of arrowroot starch. So that left me with the regular cinnamon rolls. No fancy title or claims, but I can definitely attest to their deliciousness now!

It's Easter, so I had to include flowers
It’s Easter, so I had to include flowers

We had plenty of food for Easter, but these were gone immediately. I made them the day before, but stuck them in the oven and glazed them right before serving so they were still warm. I loved the honey and cinnamon filling. In my mind, it was perfectly gooey and sweet but not overly so. The recipe makes five cinnamon rolls or ten mini ones. The mini ones are the perfect bite size, so I would recommend those. Sometimes a huge cinnamon roll is a little much and often sends you into the food coma realm… But if you do make the big ones, you don’t need to feel guilty (or sick) about eating the entire thing! I also realized how satisfying it is to roll up dough and see it turn into a beautifully spiraled cinnamon roll. Maybe it will be enough to inspire me to continue on my cinnamon roll bucket list.

close2

Cinnamon Rolls recipe found here

2 cups almond flour

1/8 tsp sea salt

½ tbsp baking soda

1 tbsp baking powder

2 tbs unsweetened applesauce

1 tbs unsweetened almond or coconut milk

1 tbs honey (in dough), ¼ cup honey (in filling)

1 tsp cinnamon (in dough), 2 tbs cinnamon (in filling)

2 eggs

4 tbs ground flax seed

  1. Mix almond flour, sea salt, baking soda and powder, and flax seed in a bowl.
  2. Mix in eggs and milk, then mix in applesauce, then mix in honey.
  3. Finally add in cinnamon and use your hands to form a ball of dough. My dough was pretty sticky at this step, so if yours is as well, add in some more flour of any type. I used coconut flour, but oat flour or more almond flour would work as well.
  4. Cover and place in the fridge to firm for about 20 minutes
  5. Preheat oven to 350F, then lay a piece of wax paper down and spray with cooking spray or grease with coconut oil.
  6. Flatten and roll out dough with yours hands (it will probably stick too much to a rolling pin). Cut the dough into five strips.
  7. Drizzle evenly with the ¼ cup honey (I used a little less) and 2 tbs cinnamon.
  8. Start rolling each strip into cinnamon rolls. At this point you will have five big rolls, so you can either leave them like this, or cut them in half to make mini rolls.
  9. Place the rolls in a greased baking pan or in a cupcake tin and bake for about 25 minutes.  insta

Glaze:

¼ cup almond or coconut milk

3 tbs powdered sugar (or could also use protein powder)

1 tbs arrowroot starch (thickener)

Mix all ingredients together in a glass. If it is still watery, microwave for about 30 seconds. Drizzle over the cinnamon rolls before serving.

glazed

close

Leave a Reply

