Chai Spiced Almond Butter

Happy Easter weekend! I finally had some time to get back in the kitchen today and baked through all the top recipes on my to-do list, and then some. This recipe was actually a by-product, but I had the almonds, spices, and food processor out, so I couldn’t resist. Once the kitchen is messy, another little mess doesn’t make much of a difference. And my kitchen was definitely a mess this afternoon…

pic2

I have a few surprises coming for Easter brunch tomorrow that I will post throughout the week. I don’t want to ruin any surprises beforehand, and I also need to take some action shots! I can’t post recipes before everyone has tried them! But I sampled my way through everything as I was baking, I can assure you that this week you will have something to look forward to. I haven’t really figured out what I’ll be eating for the rest of the week, but at least I have Easter brunch with my family and friends covered. So here is a little appetizer that you can snack on while you’re waiting for the rest to come. Spiced perfectly to spread on fruit, mix into oatmeal or smoothies, or just eat with a spoon. pic1

Chai Spiced Almond Butter

2-3 cups almonds

1 tbs cinnamon

2 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp fennel seeds or anise

2 tsp cardamom

2 tsp ground cloves

1 tsp coconut oil (optional, but prevents it from being too dry)

Directions: Place all ingredients in a food processor and blend until smooth. You may need to adjust the spicing a little. I felt like I added a pretty good amount of spice the first time (and that’s coming from someone who dumps cinnamon on everything) but wasn’t able to taste the chai, so I had to go back and add more. But overall, a delicious flavor combination that you can enjoy at any point in the day!

pic3

One thought on “Chai Spiced Almond Butter

Leave a Reply

