(Healthy) Shrimp Fried Rice

I probably didn’t really need to put the parentheses in front of the title, but just in case you thought I was changing my focus… Here is the healthiest shrimp fried rice you will ever eat.

spring

After two weeks of beans and vegetables (even with very different tastes) and a lot of fried eggs, I was ready to move onto something completely different this week. It had to be something I could make a big batch of over the weekend, have plenty of vegetables, and enough protein to keep me satisfied. Stir-fried beans and vegetables were an easy way of fulfilling these guidelines, but now I’m ready for the next level! This recipe is not any more difficult than the others and requires the same equipment and steps but is more creative and exciting to eat (in my opinion). Maybe I was inspired by the three times I’ve been out for Asian food in the past two weeks (so much sushi!), or maybe it was because cauliflower rice kept showing up on Pinterest, but this is a delicious, healthy take on the traditional Chinese dish.

close

So it’s not completely the Chinese dish… mostly because it uses cauliflower instead of rice. I think cauliflower succeeded at being rice better than it did at being pizza dough though! It is mostly just a vehicle to soak up the delicious flavors of everything else and has a consistency very similar to rice, so you barely notice the difference. Like everything homemade, this fried rice is much healthier than anything you would get in a restaurant, with just vegetables, shrimp, garlic, ginger, coconut oil, and coconut aminos/soy sauce. I just kept adding vegetables and ingredients and made a HUGE batch by the time I was finished. It actually didn’t even fit in the largest Pyrex container we had, so obviously that meant I had to eat the remainder. All I can say is, I can’t wait for lunch this week!

bowl

As always, this is my recipe, but I encourage you to be creative and add whatever vegetables or seasonings you think would be best. Or just whatever you have in your fridge!

Shrimp Fried Cauliflower Rice

1 head cauliflower

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 tbs fresh ginger, minced

2 tbs coconut oil

3 celery stalks, chopped

2 small yellow onions, chopped

large handful of kale, chopped

1 bag frozen peas (steamed)

1 tsp ginger

1 tsp cayenne

salt and pepper

2 tsp coconut aminos or soy sauce

1 bag frozen shrimp, thawed

To make cauliflower rice: place cauliflower florets in a food processor or blender and pulse until cauliflower is in granules (it should look a lot like rice). Place in a medium frying pan on the stove to remove any excess water.

 pan

  1. Heat oil, garlic, and ginger in a large frying pan on the stove over medium heat. Once it begins to sizzle, add chopped onion and let it cook until onions start to be translucent. Then add chopped celery, kale, ginger, cayenne, coconut aminos, and any other seasonings.
  2. Next add the peas (steam them first if they are frozen) and cook until all the vegetables are fairly soft and cooked through. Add the shrimp and continue to fry until shrimp is lightly browned.
  3. Lastly, add the cauliflower rice to the pan and mix all the ingredients together with a spatula. Fry until the excess water is removed and all the vegetables are nicely browned.
  4. Enjoy out of a pineapple half like the do in restaurants! Or be like me and sample, then put the rest in the refrigerator and have a great lunch all week.

    I'm ready for spring, if you couldn't tell
    I’m ready for spring, if you couldn’t tell
Leave a Reply

