Spicing Things Up

I’ve spent the past few weeks enjoying meals spiced with garlic, cumin, and cayenne. Delicious, strong flavors that taste good with pretty much everything; I’ve been adding them to eggs, beans, onions, kale, and Brussels sprouts. Last Sunday, I made a big batch of cumin and garlic spiced beans and veggies that I ate for lunch everyday. But today I decided to “spice things up” a bit and branch out from these flavors. Partly because I was ready for something new, and partly because the fresh ginger I had bought from Trader Joe’s the other week was starting to look not quite so fresh anymore… Time for a new creation with ginger! The “throw things in a pan with no solid plan” method is usually a promising way to come up with something delicious (and it even rhymes)!

pan

With the ginger, I decided to make more of an Indian flavor and added curry powder, coconut oil (obviously), turmeric, cayenne, and then my favorite addition—shredded coconut flakes. With all the coconut, ginger, and curry, I could have added anything and it would have tasted good. I’d have to say, I did add pretty much everything to that pan… Earlier in the day, my mom had mentioned that she remembered reading that you should eat twenty different vegetables each week to have enough diversity. That is very tough when you are just cooking for one person! I did my best with this, though, and added onions, broccoli, yellow peppers, and kale. That was all I could fit… As protein, I added white kidney beans. Any sort of beans would work here, but I added the white beans mainly for aesthetic purposes to keep the pan green, yellow, and white.

Can you count the veggies?
Can you count the veggies?

It’s amazing how spices can transform the meal! Last week’s sautéed beans, vegetables, and onions tasted very different from this week’s despite the fact that the base ingredients are exactly the same. Here is my recipe, but the most important part is the spice and coconut combination. I started off pretty light on the spice, but add as much as you think you need. If you like coconut, curry, and ginger, anything will taste good. Maybe you can find a bigger pan and more vegetables than I could and fit all twenty types in one dish! Mushrooms, spinach, and cauliflower are additions that I definitely wish I could have added. I would also be interested to try adding coconut milk or even a nut butter to the mix.

close

Coconut Ginger Stir Fry

2-3 tsp fresh ginger, minced

1 tbs coconut oil

1 tsp curry powder

½ tsp cayenne

½ tsp turmeric

2-3 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut

1 yellow onion

1 yellow pepper

1 small head broccoli

2 cups raw kale

1 can white kidney beans, drained and rinsed

  1. Heat oil and fresh ginger in a large frying pan on medium-high until it starts to sizzle.
  2. Chop up onion and add it to the pan with spices. Let that sauté for a minute or so, then put the top on the frying pan to let it cook through.
  3. Sprinkle shredded coconut on top and add in chopped pepper, broccoli and kale. Allow to cook for 1-2 minutes (use a spatula to keep things moving and make sure nothing starts burning) and then place the top on the pan.
  4. Once vegetables are mostly cooked, add in the can of beans. Cook with the top on the pan to let all the flavors mix, then remove the top and let all the water boil out.
  5. Enjoy immediately or keep in the fridge to enjoy throughout the week. This is a great, nutritious lunch to eat everyday!
One thought on “Spicing Things Up

Leave a Reply

