Mint Chocolate Chip Pie

Happy belated Pi Day and happy early St. Patrick’s Day! I never really got too excited about either holiday on its own, as I didn’t even realize Pi Day was a holiday until a few years ago, and I am exactly 0% Irish. However, when you combine the two days, you get a celebration of some of my favorite things: pies and mint flavored food. I wish everyone else celebrated mint all year round… It’s been great seeing Irish mint as a flavor at all the frozen yogurt and ice cream shops! When some friends decided to have a brunch over the weekend, it was a no brainer for me to combine the best parts of both holidays to create a mint chocolate chip pie.

whole pie

            I love brunch because it can be sweet or savory, breakfast or lunch. That being said, I pretty much always go on the sweet, breakfast-y side (see vanilla bean scones or my paleo donuts). Even though this is a pie, it’s healthy and brunch acceptable, not that brunch has too many rules. But it’s paleo, vegan, and refined sugar free, so you don’t have to feel bad about eating this before getting in your fruits and vegetables. After practicing my pie-making skills a few weeks ago, I was ready to set out on my own with this original recipe. With chocolate chips in the crust and freshly ground mint in the filling, I think my baking adventure went pretty well! Maybe it will help extend the celebration of mint…

missing slice

Mint Chocolate Chip Pie

Crust:

2/3 cup oat flour (or ground oats)

1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/3 cup almonds

1 tbs coconut oil

small handful chocolate chips

2 tbs maple syrup

Filling:

            2 ripe bananas

7-10 fresh mint leaves

½ tsp mint extract

(large) handful chocolate chips

few drops green food coloring

  1. Crust: preheat oven to 350F and lightly grease a pie dish with coconut oil. Grind the oats in a food processor, then add in almonds and cocoa powder until finely ground. Next add in the coconut oil, chocolate chips, and maple syrup and process until it starts to stick together. Then press the crust into the pie dish and bake for about 10 minutes. Let cool while you make the filling.
  2. Filling: place bananas and mint leaves in the food processor. Combine until bananas are smooth and mint is finely processed. Then add in the food coloring and mint extract and continue processing. Pulse in the chocolate chips at the end—enough to mix and chop them slightly but not so that they are completely ground up.
  3. Pour filling into the crust and freeze for a few hours before serving. Tastes like ice cream cake!
    On a festive plate!
    On a festive plate!

    Close up of my artwork
    Close up of my artwork
Leave a Reply

