Put an Egg on It

For the past two weeks, I have found myself getting home from the gym or work later and later. As much as I would like to cook up some fantastic dinner, I have nowhere near enough time, energy, or creativity left at the end of a long day. In a perfect world, I spend all day Sunday cooking delicious meals that I can eat throughout the week, but between birthdays, moving (oh yeah, I moved!!!), and countless snowstorms, that hasn’t been happening either. So for the past two weeks, I’ve been trying to make the quickest, most nutritious meals possible. It’s been so tempting to just eat some almond butter and carrot sticks or an energy bar and call it a night, but I haven’t let myself do that yet!

For me, the hardest part is getting in enough quality protein. Vegetables are easy, but most protein you have to spend a long time cooking. Canned beans aren’t very appetizing either when arriving home after a cold train ride. I also get overwhelmed by the thought of turning on the oven… it takes so long to preheat! So, how to make a warm dinner with protein in less than ten minutes? Fry some veggies and put on egg on it! The great thing is that you can use this for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Eggs taste good on almost any vegetables that you have in your refrigerator, or whatever vegetable you are trying to use quickly before it spoils. I was a little heartbroken when I had been looking forward to butternut squash all day and came home to find that it had gotten mushy and moldy… But eggs are adaptable so I moved on to Brussels sprouts! Some spice is always nice, and if you want to put your eggs and veggies over greens to make a salad, the runny egg yolk also makes a nice salad dressing. Change up your spices and vegetables, and you won’t feel like you are eating the same thing every night.  One night I found some sesame seeds and decided to add those in as well. This will leave you feeling satisfied and well-nourished in no time. You can be in bed by the time it would take your oven to preheat.

The version with Brussels sprouts
The version with Brussels sprouts

“Recipe”

1 tbs coconut oil

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1 onion, chopped

Vegetable of choice (spinach, kale, Brussels sprouts, zucchini…)

Spices—I often use turmeric, cayenne, and cumin

As many eggs as you want

  1. Place coconut oil and garlic in a frying pan over medium heat. When oil starts to sizzle, add in onions.
  2. Cook until onions become translucent, then add in your vegetable. Fry until fully cooked—you may have to put the lid on the pan to get your vegetables to cook through without burning.
  3. Place vegetables in a bowl with optional raw greens. Then crack the egg in the frying pan and fry until the whites are cooked through and the yolk is runny.
  4. Top off your salad and enjoy!

    The double egg--I even managed to refrain from popping the yolks immediately
    The double egg–I even managed to refrain from popping the yolks immediately
One thought on “Put an Egg on It

Leave a Reply

