Black Forest Oatmeal

When I wake up on weekends, I usually spend the first 10 minutes in bed, scrolling through Pinterest to see if anyone posted any delicious looking breakfast recipes. Usually, nothing catches my eye (or stomach), and I proceed to scroll through my own pins. Some day, I really will make one of the five versions of Paleo cinnamon rolls that I have, but it never seems to be today. In the end, the question pretty much always comes down to the same thing: pancakes or eggs?

However, this morning I didn’t find anything on Pinterest (typical) and for once, did not feel like making pancakes or eggs. Theoretically, a smoothie sounded delicious, but when the thermometer read 12 degrees, I quickly changed my mind. I wandered around the kitchen and inspected the refrigerator, pantry, and freezer. Hmm… Finally I decided to be boring and use one of the overripe bananas to make oatmeal. I would miss out on a weekend opportunity to make a delicious, elaborate breakfast.

bowl
…just kidding

 

By the time I had finished assembling an assortment of ingredients, I was pleasantly surprised! I had no intention of making a post about my breakfast this morning, but I couldn’t resist. Frozen cherries, cocoa powder, oats, banana, and nuts came together to make a decadent and antioxidant-packed breakfast. I wasn’t sure whether to call it “black forest” or “chocolate covered cherry,” but when I saw the final color, I knew I had to go with black forest. Be sure to add in some baking soda to make it extra fluffy, almost like the cake that I stole the name from!

close

Black Forest Oatmeal

Handful of cherries (fresh or frozen)

1 ripe banana

¼ – ½ cup dried oats

1 tbs chia seeds

1 heaping tbs unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

2/3 cup water or almond milk

toppings: nuts/nut butter, cacao nibs or chocolate chips

  1. Place cherries and banana in microwave-safe bowl and microwave for about 1 minute. Mix fruit together and add in oats, chia, cocoa powder, baking soda, and water/almond milk (almond milk will make it creamier).
  2. Microwave for 2-3 minutes until the oats have absorbed the liquid. With the banana and baking soda, they will be thick and fluffy! Let it sit for a bit before eating to let it cool and get even thicker.
  3. Top with nuts and nibs. I even found some tart cherry juice in my fridge to add in as well.

    Gooey and fluffy
    Gooey and fluffy
Leave a Reply

