My New Favorite Breakfast

            I hesitate to call this a recipe since there is not much to it, so I’ll settle with “combination.” If you’re looking for a breakfast to keep you satisfied until lunch, this is full of protein and healthy fats that will definitely do the job. I have a weekend version for when you have more and a weekday version that takes all of two minutes to make. And the recipe only has two main, easy to find ingredients. Egg + avocado.

A one-bowl wonder
A one-bowl wonder

I obviously did not invent this combination, but I have eaten it almost every single morning for the past two weeks and I wanted to share it. You stay satisfied for hours without getting that heavy, full feeling that sometimes accompanies oatmeal. Feel free to add some toast in as well. If you have time to do the weekend version during the week, I am jealous; crispy avocado and egg with garlic is amazing. Most people wouldn’t think of frying avocado because it already has fat in it, but browned and crispy avocado is pretty fantastic. You could also make this for a quick dinner. It would be great with some sautéed greens!close

Weekend Egg and Avocado

1 egg

½ avocado

1-2 garlic cloves

1 tbs coconut oil (or olive oil)

cayenne or chili pepper

salt and pepper to taste

  1. Finely chop garlic and place in a frying pan with coconut oil.
  2. Once the garlic and oil start sizzling, slice avocado and place in the oil.
  3. Allow avocado to brown slightly and then crack the egg in the pan. Flip the avocado so that is can cook on the other side.
  4. Sprinkle with cayenne, salt and pepper. Fry until the egg is cooked to your liking. I like when the yolk is still runny; exploding egg yolks has been one of my favorite activities since I was eight…

    I had to explode the yolk...
    I had to explode the yolk…

Weekday Egg and Avocado

1 egg

½ avocado

cayenne, salt, pepper

Place egg and sliced avocado in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave for 30 seconds. You may need to microwave slightly longer, but it’s better to start slow. My first attempt exploded all over the microwave… Season with spices and eat on the way out the door.

One thought on “My New Favorite Breakfast

Leave a Reply

