Winter Workouts

I have spent wayyyyy too much time in my house recently due to all the snow. Pretty much everyone in the Northeast is feeling a little cooped up right now. Cabin fever, stir crazy, whatever you want to call it. On Tuesday, my FitBit said I walked less than 2000 steps the whole day. I usually walk that much in a morning just getting to and from the train! I tried walking around my house as much as possible, but there are only so many times you can walk from your room to the kitchen or the living room for no good reason.

I’ve been trying to maintain half marathon fitness on our exercise bike since the gyms have been closed and it’s impossible to get a good run in with 7 feet of snow sitting around. I actually am writing this post sitting on the rowing machine in my basement, which I do occasionally revisit if I need to vary my workout. Currently, I am doing my own “erg-a-thon” and rowing 5-10km at a time with blog post writing breaks in between. We’ll see how many I can do… I’m choosing not to think of how much faster I was last year at this time.

But just in case you aren’t fortunate enough to have any exercise equipment in your house or apartment, you can still get in a good workout! High intensity circuits are great ways of getting in a hard workout in any environment. Another plus: they can be as short/long as you want! I rotate between making up my own and then going to the occasional class at the gym (when I can get there) to get some new ideas. I’ve done a few circuits this week, and I’ll admit I’ve been sore every day since last Saturday… Being in good cardiovascular shape did nothing to help me with short, fast intervals! The other great thing about circuits is that you can tailor them to your needs, focusing on abs, butt, legs, arms, etc. Once you know a few good exercises, you will be set to make your own circuits anytime you need them. If you don’t have weights, use anything you can find like books, food/drink items, etc.

Here is a basic formula with some exercise ideas and then I’ll give a few specifics.

Circuit 1:

45-50 seconds on, 10-15 seconds off. Try and pick around 10 exercises and repeat 3-6 times.

Circuit 2:

20 seconds on, 10 seconds off with three strength/high intensity moves. Repeat three times, rest 30 seconds, then move onto another 3 move circuit. Another variation is to do 30-60 seconds of cardio (such as high knees, mountain climbers, jogging in place) in between mini circuits.

Smorgasbord Circuit:

Do 60 seconds of the hardest things you can think of, back to back, and repeat as many times as you can. I suggest things like burpees, squat jumps (or any sort of jumping), or push-ups.

Exercises:

Burpees, jumping jacks, mountain climbers, speed skater jumps, squats, squat jumps, high knees, tuck jumps, lunges, sumo squats, calf raises, hip/glute bridges, planks (regular, side, one arm, etc), bicycles, crunches, leg lifts, flutter kicks, Russian twist, toe touches, V-sits, reverse crunches, Supermans, push-ups (lots of variations), tricep dips, bicep curls, delt presses with any sort of weight, squat press with weights. This should be enough to get you started!

WORKOUTS

Here’s a workout that claims to burn 1000 calories. I’ve done it and definitely feel very tired at the end, but I don’t think it burns quite that many calories…

100 jumping jacks

100 crunches

100 squats

25 pushups

25 burpees

Repeat three times with limited rest.

Snowed In Butt/Legs workout

50 jumping jacks

10 squats

5 burpees

15 lunges (each side)

5 burpees

15 sumo squats

5 burpees

15 hip bridges

5 burpees

15 leg raise lunges (each leg)

5 burpees

20 minute workout. Repeat these exercises as many times as you can in 20 minutes

10 burpees

20 push-ups

30 situps

40 squats

50 sec plank

If these aren’t enough for you, grab a shovel and start shoveling out cars. Hoisting pounds of snow above your head into the 7-foot snow bank should definitely do the trick. I shoveled the walkway earlier and am already starting to feel sore…

One thought on “Winter Workouts

Leave a Reply

