Snowflakes, Super Bowl, and Smoothies

I should probably add snowflakes in again at the end of the title. We have so much! A lot has happened in the past week, and it’s been a while since my last post! I have spent four of the last 8 workdays working at home as we have been bombarded by snow and freezing cold weather. The snowiest week Boston has had in over a century… I wish I could have taken advantage of it and gone skiing, but unfortunately that vacation will have to wait.

And then for the second S—superbowl! We enjoyed chili lime chicken, guacamole, and beans as we watched the Patriots finally pull out the win. It took me quite a while to calm down and recover from the last few minutes of football… And now that I was finally able to make it into work this week, I had the great fortune of being able to step outside during my lunch break to watch the parade go by near Boston Common.

Red, white, and blue confetti all over Boston
Red, white, and blue confetti all over Boston

But if you ate a little too much or partied a little too hard during your snowdays or Super Bowl parties, here are some smoothie recipes to help you recover. I actually made both of them last week, but as soon as I get around to replenishing my supplies of mint and coconut oil, I cannot wait to make them again. I made big batches of both, froze them, and then stuck it in the fridge the night before I wanted to drink it, which worked out pretty well. The pear-avocado smoothie is a beautiful bright green color. The mint and ginger completely mask the taste of the avocado and spinach, so it’s a great way to get in your greens. Also helps with rehydration!

smoothie

Unfortunately for the blueberry smoothie, I cannot say the same about its beautiful color, but I can promise that it tastes delicious! I love the fact that it has green tea in it, an antioxidant powerhouse and great for your metabolism. Combine that with chia seeds, spinach, and coconut oil, there is pretty much nothing missing from this smoothie.

Pear-Avocado Detox Smoothie recipe from My New Roots

2 pears

1 avocado

1 ½ cups spinach

1 cup water

2 tsp minced ginger

1 ½ tbs fresh squeezed lemon juice

10-20 mint leaves

Place all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Makes two servings.

 green smoothie

Gut Healing Blueberry Smoothie recipe found here

1 cup freshly brewed green tea (cooled)

1 cup unsweetened coconut/almond milk

2/3 cup vanilla protein powder (I just used a scoop of it)

1 cup frozen blueberries

½ cup raw spinach

2 tbs chia seeds

1 tbs coconut oil

1 tsp cinnamon

8 ice cubes

Mix in blender and either serve right away in two glasses, or freeze for later. Be sure to thaw it before drinking.

 

Leave a Reply

