Mexican Spiced Mocha Pancakes

…with blueberry ginger sauce. I thought that would make too long of a title, but I couldn’t just leave the blueberries out entirely. I’ve had a brunch recipe from last weekend that I’ve been meaning to post, but I couldn’t resist making, eating, and writing about these first, so here they are. But before I get to the post, IT’S SNOWING!! After last winter (which I admittedly moved to Southern California during), we’ve had it pretty easy with snow so far. I really hate cold weather, so if it’s going to be cold, it might as well snow in my opinion. Put the cold air to good use!

snow

            Maybe I was inspired by the snow, or maybe because it is my first completely free Saturday since Christmas, but I woke up this morning wanting to make something delicious. This pancake recipe has the same base ingredients as my mugcake and banana pancake recipe, but the add-ins are what make it so delicious. It is a bit of a mish-mash of ingredients, but I couldn’t pick just one flavor. I still think the combination worked! Mexican hot chocolate + mocha + blueberries + ginger. Of course topped with almond butter and some bee pollen to give it another healthy kick. Gluten-free and paleo as well. What a way to start a snowy winter weekend!

close

Mexican Spiced Mocha Pancakes

            1 egg

2 tbs coconut flour

1 mashed banana

1-2 tbs unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp instant coffee granules (freshly brewed coffee would also work well, just substitute out some of the almond milk to prevent batter from being too runny)

2 tbs almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla)

1 tsp baking soda

SPICES: cinnamon, paprika, cayenne, nutmeg

Optional: chia seeds

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, then fry in a pan with coconut oil. Makes three medium pancakes.

Blueberry Ginger Sauce

            Blueberries (frozen or fresh)

1 tsp minced fresh ginger

This is a really technical recipe. Ready? Place in a small pan over the stove and heat with the top on. You could even just use the microwave.

Allow it to boil for a while so that the ginger infuses with the berries. Any type of berry will work! Before serving, remove top and boil away excess liquid if you prefer.

Arrange on a plate with extra fruit, almond butter, more spices, or yogurt.

Heart-shape accidental
Accidentally heart-shaped
Leave a Reply

