Flourless Pumpkin Pie Muffins

As promised, here is my second healthy breakfast recipe. I made these over the weekend to last my for the week’s breakfasts and snacks. Yes, they are pumpkin flavored again… I couldn’t help it after I found the recipe though! All the flavors of pumpkin pie in healthy muffin form, complete with almond butter. I can’t wait to wake up for breakfast for these!

arrangement

            Besides my healthy bars, bites, and muffins, I also cooked a few sweet potatoes this weekend. Although it feels a little funny to be carrying around a sweet potato in your bag and is a little awkward to eat, these are great to have on hand. I eat them on the train after I work out, usually as subtly as possible. When I leave in the morning, my bag is stuffed with all sorts of these snacks, giving me a dense and nutrient filled variety of foods. This way, I don’t get too hungry ever and eat too much of whatever is in front of me. I’m slightly worried I might start turning orange soon with all this pumpkin and sweet potato, but at least I’m getting enough vitamin A to last a lifetime!

muffin

Flourless Pumpkin Pie Muffins from Running with Spoons (I highly recommend following this blog—it’s one of my favorites for a variety of healthy foods with a few unhealthy treats)

stack

¼ cup almond butter

1/3 cup pumpkin puree

1 egg

6 tsp honey

½ cup rolled oats

2 tbs ground flaxseed

1 tsp cinnamon

½ tsp nutmeg, cloves

1 tsp vanilla extract

½ tsp baking soda

  1. Preheat oven to 375F and prepare muffin tin by either spraying 9 cavities or using muffin holders.
  2. Add all ingredients to a high speed blender OR just finely grind oats into oat flour and mix the ingredients with a spoon.
  3. Pour batter into muffin tin and fill each cavity about ¾ full.
  4. Bake for 10-12 minutes until muffin tops are set.

Enjoy these throughout the week! I have put mine in the freezer for a nice snack to have at any point throughout the day.

Flourless Pumpkin Muffins

One thought on “Flourless Pumpkin Pie Muffins

Leave a Reply

