Pumpkin Protein Oat Bars

This post marks the first in a string of healthy breakfast/snack recipes. I munched through these bars last week along with my healthy cookie dough bites quite happily. I even shared some with my uncle (I think he may have initially thought they were dessert), and we both enjoyed them with Whole Foods honey roasted peanut butter on top. Mmm…

with peanut butte

I made these bars before New Years, but one of my New Year’s resolutions is to do a better job eating healthy snacks and breakfasts to keep me fueled throughout the day. I’m pretty good at eating healthily throughout the day, but sometimes I don’t eat enough and then get starving, so dinner turns into eating whatever is in front of me as fast as I can. Sometimes my major food groups also consist of fruits/vegetables and dessert. So this week I am focusing on the in between!

bars

These bars are healthy, easy, quick, and are portable to bring to work, the gym, or to make some new friends. Who will like you even better when they find out the bars are healthy and full of protein!

Pumpkin Protein Oat Bars recipe found here 

1 cup pumpkin puree

1 cup unsweetened applesauce

½ cup egg whites or 2 large eggs

¼ cup maple syrup or honey

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 tsp pumpkin pie spice (cinnamon+nutmeg+cloves)

1 tsp baking powder

½ tsp baking soda

¾ cup protein powder

1 ½ cups rolled oats

½ cup walnuts (I omitted these)

  1. Preheat oven to 375F and line 8×8 baking dish with parchment paper.
  2. Whisk all ingredients except the oats and optional nuts together in a medium mixing bowl.
  3. Add in oats and nuts and stir well. Then pour evenly into prepared baking dish.
  4. Bake for 35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean. I ended up putting tin foil over the baking dish to let the insides cook a little more and prevent the top from burning. Let cool and then serve, or pack for the week! As previously mentioned, I recommend serving with peanut butter. closeup
Leave a Reply

