Andes Mint Brownies

Merry Christmas! Not exactly a white Christmas, but a nice day for running outside—in shorts. Gotta make plenty of room for a delicious Christmas dinner! If you need a last second recipe, here is a good one.

tower

I told you these brownies were coming… I’ll take a break from peppermint and chocolate after this, but I couldn’t skip this recipe. Brownies from scratch with candy cane baked in and Andes mints on top. They are super chocolatey, with 6 ounces of dark chocolate melted into the batter and also use coffee and espresso granules to bring out the chocolate flavor even more. Definitely not something you can eat a lot of, but try and save some room for these. And then invite some friends to help you eat them.

My sister used to make brownies with either peppermint patties or graham crackers, chocolate, and marshmallows baked into them. And I used to tell her that I didn’t like them and didn’t want her to make them. However, the real reason for this was that I liked them so much that I couldn’t stop eating them and could almost finish a pan by myself… At the time I was training 3-4 hours a day, so I was pretty uncomfortable for the night but the feeling would subside pretty quickly. I was a little nervous to make these brownies today for that very reason, especially since my current training regimen would not be able to burn through too many brownies quite so quickly.

I took my own advice from last week and used crushed candy canes in the batter, which melt into the chocolate and become infused into the batter. The recipe called for Andes mints in the batter and on top, but I decided on the candy canes in the batter instead. I took the brownies out a little early as well, before the middle had completely cooked. Can’t get much better than gooey brownies with peppermint. Luckily my sister had friends over, so after I had “cleaned out” the pan (aka eaten the half cooked, melted brownies that were hard to get out of the pan), they made sure to finish the rest for me.

plate

Andes Mint Brownies from Averie Cooks 

½ cup unsalted butter

6 ounces bittersweet/dark chocolate

2 eggs

¾ cup granulated sugar

1 tbs vanilla extact

1 tbs brewed coffee (optional)

1 tsp instant espresso granules

pinch salt

¾ cup all purpose flour

28 Andes mints OR 5 crushed candy canes and chocolate chips

Topping:

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

28 Andes mints, diced into thirds

  1. Preheat oven to 350F and line 8-inch square pan with aluminum foil.
  2. Start brownies by melting butter and chocolate in large microwave safe bowl for 2 minutes. Stir after one minute and keep heating until chocolate has melted. Allow to cool for a moment before adding eggs.
  3. Add eggs, sugar, vanilla, coffee, espresso, and salt and whisk to combine.
  4. Add flour and stir until the batter is smooth.
  5. Fold Andes mints/candy canes and chocolate chips into the batter.batter
  6. Pour batter into pan and smooth the top. Bake for 24-25 minutes or until set.
  7. Make topping by melting chocolate chips in the microwave and evenly pour the chocolate over the brownies.
  8. Let the topping cool for 8-10 minutes before sprinkling over Andes mints so that the mints don’t completely melt into the chocolate.

    Miles of mints
    Miles of mints
  9. Cool uncovered for about 4 hours (or eat them warm and melted…). If you want to make them look prettier, I would recommend letting them cool before cutting.brownie
One thought on “Andes Mint Brownies

Leave a Reply

