Quinoa and Avocado Stuffed Acorn Squash

If I had to name one thing to eat for the rest of my life, it would be sweet potatoes and squash. Okay, so I guess that’s two things. But honestly, I would eat them happily at every meal. On weekends, I snack on sweet potato French fries baked in coconut oil with cinnamon, and on weekdays, I eat squash almost every night for dinner. Butternut, acorn, spaghetti, even the ornamental one that was on the table for Thanksgiving. I generally eat them plain since they’re so easy to just stick in the oven. But since today was Sunday, I decided to make dinner a little fancier.

squash2

            I got the recipe idea from Buzzfeed’s article of 31 Delicious Things to Cook in December, which surprisingly is a great compilation of recipes (expect some more in the future). I didn’t have all the ingredients for the quinoa and black bean pilaf, but I made my own adjustments. For me, the acorn squash is the highlight of the meal anyways, so I don’t want too many things to distract from the flavor! Except for the time it takes to roast the squash, the meal comes together very quickly and works well as leftovers. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten free, so perfect for any diet. I am already excited for lunch tomorrow when I can eat it again.

squash1

Avocado and Quinoa Stuffed Acorn Squash recipe found here

3-4 small acorn squash, in halves

2 tbs olive oil

1 onion

2 cloves minced garlic

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp coriander

1.5 cups cooked quinoa

1 can black beans

1 or 2 avocados

1 lime, squeezed

salt and pepper

optional: feta cheese

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Place squash halves on baking tray and scoop out insides. Drizzle with olive oil and roast for 40-50 minutes until soft and browned. You may need to flip it over as well.
  2. Heat oil in large skillet and cook onions with salt and pepper. When the onions are translucent, add garlic, cumin, and coriander. Then add quinoa, black beans, and lime juice and stir.

    Quinoa and black beans, pre-stuffing
    Quinoa and black beans, pre-stuffing
  3. Remove from heat and add in avocado and as much seasoning as you would like.
  4. Scoop into acorn squash and enjoy!

 squash close

P.S. I made a successful mugcake this morning! Using banana and egg definitely helps…

It can hold its shape!
It can hold its shape!
One thought on “Quinoa and Avocado Stuffed Acorn Squash

Leave a Reply

