Pumpkin Mugcake

I woke up on Sunday deciding that I wanted to make something different for breakfast. Overnight oats and smoothies, while they have endless combinations, do get a little old after a while. One of the Instagram accounts that I follow always posts delicious-looking pictures of breakfast mugcakes (exactly what it sounds like—literally a cake made in a mug), so I decided to try my hand at that. Super easy, single serving, and you can make it in a microwave in two minutes.

foodandbreakast
An elegant Sunday breakfast for one

Most of the recipes involved eggs, mashed bananas, and coconut flour, which unfortunately I didn’t have. But I did have 2/3 can of pumpkin puree, almond flour, and googled a way to make an egg subsitute with chia seeds. Added in some almond milk, spices, vanilla protein powder, and baking soda and put the mug in the microwave. What came out two minutes later was not very cake-like… still very gooey. I tried micrwaving it again with not much more success.

Yeah, I know what you think it looks like... But it tastes good I promise!
Yeah, I know what you think it looks like… But it tastes good I promise!

It still tasted amazing, so I gave up and made up for the mashed pumpkin plop by decorating it with clementine, pomegranate, more cinnamon, Greek yogurt, and bee pollen*.

far away
Much better!

I’ll share my recipe if you want more of a pudding type cake and then I’ll post the recommended one. The main problem with mine was that I used too much pumpkin and not enough/the wrong type of flour. Almond flour is fairly dense, so it’s hard to get the fluffy cake texture from it. Having a real egg probably wouldn’t have hurt either.

closeup

*I’ve seen bee pollen in many healthy recipes recently but didn’t know of its exact health benefits. It’s fairly expensive, but after reading a few articles, it definitely seems to be worth it! It “contains all the nutrients needed to sustain life,” making up for most nutritional deficiencies”**. Cultures have used it to improve endurance, build new blood, extend longevity, reduce cravings, regulate the intestines, help and prevent infection and chronic illnesses, and even to help children overcome developmental problems. I can’t say it tastes amazing, but it’s an easy thing to sprinkle in oatmeal, smoothies, or on yogurt.

Pumpkin Mug Pudding

2/3 can pumpkin puree (I recommend a little less)

2 tbs almond flour (use a different flour if you want it to be fluffier)

2 tbs almond milk

2 tbs chia gel or an egg

1 scoop vanilla protein powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

As much cinnamon and spice as you want!

Make the chia gel by placing 2 tbs chia seeds in 3 tbs water and microwave for about 20 seconds until it becomes gel like. Or place in a fridge overnight to allow the seeds to soak the water slowly. If you don’t want the seedy texture, place the gel in a blender. Mix all the ingredients in a mug and microwave for 2-4 minutes. Serve with fruit, yogurt and any other edible decorations!

 

Original Mugcake Recipe (from foodandbreakfast Instagram account)

1 mashed banana

1 egg

2 tbs coconut flour

2 tbs almond milk

Add in protein powder, spices, cocoa powder to flavor however you would like.

Mix all ingredients in a mug and microwave two minutes.

**bee pollen information found here

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Mugcake

Leave a Reply

