Starring: Apple Berry Pie

So I’m sure everyone is more than ready for a break from pie, but I had to make another one… Because I was working on all the days surrounding Thanksgiving, I missed most of the leftovers, as all 20 people enjoyed them throughout the day. Most upsetting to me was that I had no leftover pie! I guess 5 pies just weren’t enough for all of us. I spent the Sunday after Thanksgiving making another one. Crumble crusts taste the best in my opinion, but I’ve always wanted to make one with a lattice top or some sort of decoration, so I decided to go with the buttery crust instead.

inside

            In terms of the filling, I made up my own recipe by cutting up some apples and adding in some mixed frozen berries. Squeezed a little lemon juice, added a spoonful of sugar, arrowroot (instead of cornstarch), and dumped in a lot of cinnamon. For the crust, I used Martha Stewart’s pate brisee recipe, which I had used this summer to make a strawberry galette.

I scrolled through a few pie crust ideas, comparing the woven tops and ornate decorative ones. Unfortunately I didn’t have a leaf-shaped cookie cutter or else I would have used that, but I did find a star shaped one. I decided to cut out star-shapes and then border the pie with stars. It looks beautiful but is actually really easy! Simply roll out the dough, cut out shapes in whatever design you choose, and lay it over the pie filling. Place the cutouts around the rim. I used stars, but I found a Christmas tree cookie cutter that I will definitely be putting to use in the coming months.

done

closeup
Crust closeup

 

Apple Mixed Berry Star Pie:

Pate Brisee recipe found here

2 cups flour

1 tsp sugar

1 tsp salt

2 sticks (1 cup) butter, chilled and cut into ½ inch cubes

¼-1/2 cup ice water

Pulse sugar, flour, and salt in a food processor. Add in butter until mixture becomes coarse. Then slowly pour in water and pulse until dough holds together but is not sticky. Make sure it isn’t crumbly. Split dough into two balls, shape into disc form, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the refrigerator to chill for at least one hour.

Filling:

4 small apples, chopped

¾ bag frozen mixed berries

1 lemon, squeezed

¼ cup sugar

1 tsp arrowroot (or cornstarch)

Spices! I sprinkled in quite a bit of cinnamon.

Preheat oven to 375F. Roll out one disc of pate brisee until fairly thin and line a pie dish with it. Cut away the excess dough from around the edges. Pour the filling over the crust.

Now for the fun part! Roll out the second disc and cut away whatever shapes you would like. Place this crust on top of the filling. Optional: create a border of cut out shapes around the pie. Cook for about an hour. If edges start to brown, cover the edges with tinfoil to allow the middle to cook more.

Before going in the oven
Before going in the oven

done2

One thought on “Starring: Apple Berry Pie

Leave a Reply

