Honey Whole Wheat Bread

Before I start with this week’s recipes, I have one more post to catch up on from last week. I had a lot of buttermilk left over from the vanilla bean fig scones, and I wanted to do something interesting with it. I’ve never used buttermilk much before besides to make my favorite buttermilk biscuits for strawberry shortcake. But it was my grandmother’s birthday and my uncle had the cake (from the delicious Flour Bakery in Boston) covered and I definitely didn’t want to make another dessert to compete. I began scrolling through many cake, biscuit, and pancake recipes before coming across this recipe for 30 minute skillet honey whole wheat bread.

cooling2

            It was a perfectly dense, hearty bread with a slight sweetness from the molasses and honey. So easy to make as well that I had no trouble fitting it in even though I was making maple syrup bars, sweet potato bravas, and the rest of the birthday dinner for my grandmother (roasted carrots with chimichurri sauce, roast leg of lamb, and butternut squash). A quick mix of ingredients and into the oven for 25 minutes and it’s all done! Mine wasn’t quite cooked through the middle, but I’ll admit, the bread dough tasted pretty good… I carved out the middle and ate the half-baked part before serving it to everyone else :). It was a perfect side to dinner and has a subtle enough flavor that it goes well with almost anything. No yeast, kneading, or rising required.

Sweet, dense, and warm
Sweet, dense, and warm
Breaking the bread
Breaking the bread

Honey Whole Wheat Skillet Bread from Averie Cooks

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 tsp baking soda

pinch salt

2 tbs oil (I think I found some almond oil to use, but canola works well)

2 tbs honey

1 tbs molasses

1 tbs brown sugar

1 ¼ cups buttermilk

  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Spray/grease a cast-iron skillet, recommended size 8-12 inches in diameter. You can use a greased baking sheet if you don’t have one.
  2. Combine ingredients in the order listed in a large mixing bowl, except for the buttermilk. Mix them quickly and then pour 1 cup buttermilk over the top. Stir—dough should be “shaggy” and moist. If it is dry, add ¼ cup buttermilk. The dough should be pretty lumpy and coarse, so don’t try to make it smooth. Form it into a circular ball that’s about 6 inches in diameter and place in the skillet.

    Pre-baking
    Pre-baking, definitely a bit shaggy
  3. Bake at 400F for 15 minutes, then lower to 350F and bake for 10 more minutes until it is golden. I ended up covering to top with tinfoil so that it didn’t burn and cooked a little longer to cook all the way through.

    Golden brown!
    Golden brown!
  4. Remove and place on a wire rack to cool immediately. If you leave it in a skillet, the bottom will continue to cook and get burnt. Best served warm, so make sure and reheat if you aren’t eating it until later!
Leave a Reply

