Honey Glazed Sweet Potato Bravas

I thought I was a pretty good expert on all things sweet potato (or just orange vegetables in general), but on Wednesday night I discovered a new sweet potato dish. I went out for dinner and experienced “honey glazed sweet potato bravas.” When I first ordered them, I didn’t really know what to expect from the name—I figured anything with honey glazed and sweet potato in the name had to be good. After my first bite, I wished I could have ordered them as my entrée instead of just the appetizer.

They were soft and sweet like a roasted sweet potato on the inside, but the outside was crunchy and sweet. It tasted like they had been first roasted and then fried in a pan with honey to caramelize on the outside and give them the perfect crunch. The plate was splashed with an avocado pesto as well for dipping. After finishing the appetizer all too quickly, I decided it was something I definitely would try to recreate on my own.

Luckily, I didn’t have to wait all that long. Sunday morning, after returning home from a long run, I decided that I would give it a shot. I found the biggest sweet potato in the pantry, cut it into cubes, and roasted it in the oven until it had just started getting soft. Next was the frying pan. My dish at the restaurant definitely had a bit of a spicy kick, but I just decided to opt for the honey. First I warmed some coconut oil and then added the honey to melt it before adding the sweet potatoes. The frying pan was first on medium heat, but the sweet potatoes weren’t really getting glazed or crispy on the outside. I had the best luck after turning the heat onto high. At this point, the pan started sizzling, the honey was caramelizing, and the sweet potatoes were browning. I would let each sweet potato cube cook for a few minutes and then flip onto a different side. Depending on how thorough you want to be, you can fry on all sides or just pick a few.

Just before sizzling
Just before sizzling

Verdict: crunchy and sweet on the outside, soft and sweet in the middle. They were delicious! Instead of avocado pesto, I opted for a sprinkle of cinnamon on top. I was even generous enough to share some with my sister. Bravo for bravas! Definitely a new dish that I will add to my menus.

Browned and crunchy sweet
Browned and crunchy sweet

Sweet Potato Bravas

1 large sweet potato, cut into cubes

2 tbs coconut oil (or any oil you prefer)

2 tbs honey

sprinkle of cinnamon (optional)

Roast the sweet potato with 1 tbs oil in the oven at 400F for about 40 minutes or until it starts to get soft but not completely done. Next, warm the oil and honey in a frying pan over medium heat. Once melted, add the cooked sweet potato cubes and coat lightly with the oil/honey glaze. Turn heat up to high to get the outside crispy and sizzling. Cook each side for a few minutes until golden brown and then flip. Enjoy with a sprinkle of cinnamon, yogurt, avocado pesto, cheese, or plain.

plate

ramekin

2 thoughts on “Honey Glazed Sweet Potato Bravas

Leave a Reply

