Butternut Squash and Fig Marinated Kale Salad

Before I post this week’s baking treat, I decided that maybe I should start with a nice, clean, healthy salad recipe. During the week, I have almost no time to cook—I don’t do much besides chop up whatever vegetables are in the fridge to throw together a salad and then make some sort of overnight oat concoction. When it comes to Sunday, I have to fit in the cooking, long workout, sleep, and baking treats that I miss out on all week. Today I barely sat down all day trying to do everything—running, grocery shopping, laundry (still a mountain of it, but at least it’s clean…), rowing, writing blog entries, and baking. Even so, I squeezed in a new, delicious salad recipe, and here it is: fig and butternut squash and marinated kale salad with balsamic reduction. Sounds complicated, but I managed to fit it into a very busy Sunday, and let me tell you, it is delicious! Sweet from squash, figs, and balsamic vinegar but balanced out with kale and shallots. I can’t wait until lunch tomorrow so I can eat the leftovers.

salad

            This recipe has been on my “salad” board on Pinterest for a while, and now I can finally check it off the list. In my opinion, it’s pretty hard for anything with butternut squash in it to be bad, and the balsamic vinegar reduction marinates it perfectly. Figs are unusual but exciting touch to make it a little more interesting. You can fit this salad into a busy weeknight too, as the only part that requires a lot of time is cooking the butternut squash.

Fig and butternut squash marinated kale salad from What’s Cooking Good Looking

1 butternut squash

8 figs, cut into quarters or eighths

salt and pepper

3 tbs lemon juice (fresh squeezed)

6 cups kale, chopped

½ cup balsamic vinegar

1 shallot, thinly sliced

olive oil, for cooking

Preheat oven to 400F and cook the butternut squash in small cubes.

Place chopped kale in a bowl, then squeeze lemon juice and some olive oil over it and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Set aside until the rest of the ingredients are ready.

Place a medium frying pan over medium heat with some olive oil. Place the figs and half of the chopped shallots in the pan and cook until they begin to caramelize. Remove, then place the balsamic vinegar in the same frying pan and cook until it begins to thicken.

Assemble the salad by placing the figs, squash, balsamic vinegar and rest of the chopped shallots on top of the marinated kale. Toss the salad and enjoy a nice big plateful (or two)!

Happy fall!

Perfectly colored for fall
Perfectly colored for fall
One thought on “Butternut Squash and Fig Marinated Kale Salad

Leave a Reply

