Exploding S’mores Bars

All I can say about this recipe is, I hope you worked out today. And I couldn’t really think of a better name for it than exploding bars, because they really are exploding with everything that is delicious (and unhealthy…). It’s what you get when you cross a s’more with some Oreos, a seven layer bar, and some extra chocolate. And since this weekend is the last weekend of summer, I figured no one would appreciate s’mores for too much longer.

This is episode two in my position of dorm baker for my sister’s dorm, after last week’s success of honey pumpkin spice cookies. I had a collection of recipes and told my sister to choose the one for this week—I was thinking of a snickerdoodle or an apple pie bar—and she chose the s’mores Oreo brownie. After reading the recipe, which consisted of brownie mix, Oreos, and marshmallows, I decided I could do much better than that. I searched Pinterest and google for some other s’more and Oreo recipes, but I wasn’t really satisfied with any of them. So I combined a few different ones and added in my own ingredients to make the delicious mountain of treats that you see below.mountain

They are gooey, sticky, melty, crunchy, chocolatey, and sweet all in one. My dad was so upset that I was sending all of them off with my sister that I made a mini batch for our house. I am posting this recipe before I hear the feedback from my sister, but I am pretty sure it will be successful….

Recipe this made one 9×13 pan and a loaf pan of bars (30 bars)

As I said, I made this up and loaded the bars with everything that Trader Joe’s had to offer. Feel free to use any kind of chocolate in the middle and maybe experiment with flavored Oreos.

All the ingredients!
All the ingredients!

16 Graham Crackers

¼ cup brown sugar

8 tbs butter

2 chocolate bars (I used 1 milk and 1 dark chocolate bar)

12 Ghiradelli chocolate squares (I used milk chocolate with caramel)

30 Oreos

1 cup chocolate chips

4 cups miniature marshmallows

a few spoonfuls of condensed milk

Preheat the oven to 350F and grease your pans.

Crush the graham crackers and mix with the brown sugar. Melt the butter and mix it with the graham crackers. Pour it into your baking pans and press evenly into the bottom.

crust

Make a layer with the chocolate bars/chocolate squares. Use all the same type of chocolate or mix them in any arrangement you like.

Alternating dark chocolate, milk chocolate, and some milk chocolate caramel squares
Alternating dark chocolate, milk chocolate, and some milk chocolate caramel squares

Place the Oreos on top of the chocolate. I tried to line it up so that each bar would have one full oreo in the middle.

oreos

Sprinkle marshmallows, then chocolate chips evenly over the cookies.

marshmallows
First marshmallows…
chocolate chips
…then chocolate chips

Last of all, spoon the condensed milk over the top and try to spread evenly.

condensed milk

Cook in the oven for 15-20 minutes, until all ingredients have melted together.

Half baked!
Half baked!

For easiest results cutting, wait an hour or so until the ingredients have re-hardened. But if you don’t mind a mess, there’s nothing better than hot melted chocolate and marshmallows…

baked

 

Cross-section of the layers
Cross-section of the layers
Leave a Reply

