Creamy Avocado Sauce

As soon as I saw this recipe in the August edition of Runner’s World, I knew I had to try it. I bookmarked the page and made sure that no one threw out the magazine. I even took a picture of the recipe with my phone just in case someone did end up throwing it away. But now I have safely made the sauce, so I can let up my hold on the magazine and erase the picture on my phone.

Topping chicken and quinoa
Topping chicken and quinoa

This sauce is amazing. The original article uses it as a pasta sauce, but given the gluten-free diets and the general lack of excitement for pasta in my house, I altered it a bit and used it for quinoa and chicken. The texture of the avocado gets incredibly creamy, like a really good (but green) macaroni and cheese. The flavors of basil, lemon, and garlic come through but not too strongly and season it perfectly. It was fantastic with our quinoa and roasted chicken, which was seasoned with lemon zest, lemon juice and some dried oregano, basil, and thyme. I even used it as salad dressing because I can promise you, this sauce will taste good with pretty much everything. If you want another reason to try it, read up on the health benefits of avocados.

 

Basil, Tomato, and Avocado Sauce

from Runner’s World August edition, pg 44

2 cups cherry tomatoes, chopped

¼ tsp salt

1 tbs olive oil

½ cup fresh basil leaves, packed and chopped

2 avocados, halved and pitted

3 large garlic cloves, chopped

¼ cup lemon juice

Pre-tomato and basil
Pre-tomato and basil

Mix tomatoes, basil, salt, and olive oil in a small bowl. Place avocados in empty pasta pot and mash with a potato masher. Add the garlic and lemon juice and stir to combine. Whisk in 1 cup of boiling water (if you made pasta or some other grain, you would use 1 cup of the pasta water). Stir in the tomato mixture. If you are using the sauce to coat the grain of your juice, stir the grain in as well. Otherwise, spoon the sauce onto your meat or vegetables. Optional: sprinkle with parmesan cheese or ground pepper.

So easy, but so good!

with tomatoes

Leave a Reply

