Honey Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Here it is, my first fall recipe! Pumpkin and spices are two of my favorite flavors of the season. I’m already looking forward to tons of squash, sweet potatoes, and apples. One of the blogs I follow (Averie Cooks) posted this recipe the other day and I decided I had to try it. The one problem is that I usually just want to try recipes, but I don’t want to be stuck with 24 cookies! Or more like, I shouldn’t be stuck with that many, because I will eat them. I’m continuing to try to follow the clean eating principles, and having a big plate of cookies around definitely won’t help me with that…

pumpkin

But then I realized that my youngest sister is a day student at a boarding high school and has a dorm full of hungry high schoolers. Perfect! There were so many other recipes that I’ve always wanted to try, but once again I didn’t actually want all of the cookies that resulted. So I designated myself as dorm baker and decided that I would bake for the dorm once a week. That way I could try out all the recipes I’d pinned, sample a cookie, and then send the rest away to people that would greatly appreciate them.

This first recipe was a huge hit! The cookies turned out perfectly chewy with all the flavors of fall. They are especially good warm (but then, what cookie isn’t better fresh out of the oven?). They weren’t quite as puffy as I was hoping, but I’ll work on that for next time. It is definitely a recipe that I will be making again.

closeup

I’m already looking forward to baking next week’s cookie. Once I decide what it is…

Honey Pumpkin Spice Cookies

From Averie Cooks (http://www.averiecooks.com/2013/09/soft-and-puffy-pumpkin-spice-honey-cookies.html), makes about 18 cookies

Ingredients

½ cup unsalted butter, softened

¾ cup light brown sugar

1 large egg

¼ cup honey

2 tbs pumpkin pie spice

1 tbs vanilla extract

2 cups flour

2 tsp cornstarch

1 tsp baking soda

  1. Beat butter, egg, and sugar on medium high speed until very well creamed. This will take about 5 minutes—make sure the dough is very light brown and fluffy. Scrape down the sides of the bowl if needed.
  2. Stop beating, then add the honey, pumpkin pie spice, and vanilla. Beat on medium-high until the mixture is smooth.
  3. Stop beating and add the flour, cornstarch, and baking soda. Beat until just combined.
  4. Form 2 tbs balls with the dough and place on large plate. I put mine directly on the greased cookie sheet and then covered with plastic wrap. Chill the dough for at least three hours. This step is very important unless you want thin, flat cookies.
I decided to wait to make them look pretty until after chilling
I decided to wait to make them look pretty until after chilling

5. After chilling, preheat oven to 350F. Place on greased baking sheet about two inches apart from each other. Bake for around 9 minutes or until the edges have just begin to set. The cookies will become firmer as they cool.

Tons of puffy cookies!
Tons of puffy cookies!
One thought on “Honey Pumpkin Spice Cookies

Leave a Reply

