Chocolat

Warning before reading this post: no secret health benefits or hidden ingredients. Just a really delicious dessert with rich chocolate, heavy cream, and sugar. If you are looking for something healthy, try nectarine blueberry chia pudding or cinnamon roll pie. You will actually have to run for this one, but it’s worth it. I ran 50 stadium sections this morning. What will you do?

la chocolat

After watching the movie Chocolat last night, I got inspired to make my own truffles. All of the shots of silky smooth chocolate made me want to recreate the “chocolaterie” in my own kitchen. So many different possibilities of coatings, toppings, dustings, and flavors. I had made truffles once over Christmas break, and the basic recipe was extremely simple. Only problem was, I couldn’t decide on the flavor. Or if I wanted to dip, drizzle, sprinkle, or roll my truffle toppings. So I just made a basic chocolate ganache and then flavored and decorated with every spice, nut, and flavor I had in my kitchen. A truffle sampler!

I brainstormed pretty seriously
I brainstormed pretty seriously
The full truffle sampler
The full truffle sampler

I didn’t want to commit an entire batch to just one flavor, but if you decide to, the ganache filling can be made with Oreos, peanut butter, cookie dough, different extracts or liqueurs, or brandy soaked dried fruit. I figured dark chocolate was versatile enough to go with most toppings, which is why I chose it. Below is the basic recipe for the dark chocolate ganache filling. Afterwards, you can roll the ganache directly in the topping or dip it in melted chocolate. You can sprinkle toppings onto this chocolate, which will then harden around the silky, chewy ganache in the center. Feel free to roll some surprises into the ganache as well—nuts, espresso beans, or dried fruit. I have a few ideas below.

Everything that looked like it would pair well with chocolate...
Everything that looked like it would pair well with chocolate…

Chocolate Truffles:

            2/3 cup heavy cream

12 oz dark chocolate, coarsely chopped (you can use milk or white chocolate if you prefer)

1 tbs vanilla extract

Bring the heavy cream to a boil in a saucepan. Then add the chocolate and whisk until melted and the mixture is smooth. Turn off the heat and whisk in the vanilla. Make sure the mixture is smooth and well mixed, then transfer to a bowl. Refrigerate for at least three hours before moving onto the next step.

The ganache filling
The ganache filling

Now for the fun part!

"Work station"
“Work station”

Rolling or Dusting the Truffles:

Make a small ball from the hardened ganache—I tried to use a spoon, but using your hands works the best. Roll the truffle in the topping of your choice. I rolled my truffles in cocoa powder (sometimes with a touch of cayenne), coconut shavings, powdered sugar, cinnamon, or chopped almonds.

Rolled in coconut shavings
Rolled in coconut shavings
Rolled in cacao powder, some with a little cayenne
Rolled in cacao powder, some with a little cayenne

Dipping Truffles:

For this, melt about ¼ cup chocolate (whatever kind you want) in the microwave. I added some coconut oil as well to help it become more solid when it hardened. Make a ball with the ganache, then place it in the melted chocolate. Make sure it is well coated, then transfer to a baking sheet with a spoon. Sprinkle on ginger, sea salt, sprinkles, cacao, coconut, or cayenne. Try adding an almond or pistachio into the ganache before coating it in chocolate, then sprinkle some chopped nuts on top.

Chocolate dipped with ginger; cinnamon and powdered sugar; cacao and powdered sugar
Chocolate dipped with ginger; cinnamon and powdered sugar; cacao and powdered sugar
The nuts. Each with a pistachio or almond in the middle and sprinkled with chopped nuts
The nuts. Each with a pistachio or almond in the middle and sprinkled with chopped nuts
Simple. Just a touch of sea salt
Simple. Just a touch of sea salt
Sprinkles!
Sprinkles!

Another variation I tried was to add a drop of mint extract to the melted chocolate before dipping the truffle. Sprinkle the top with crushed candy cane or mint crystals.

My favorite. Minty chocolate shell sprinkled with mint crystals
My favorite. Minty chocolate shell sprinkled with mint crystals

Drizzling melted white chocolate also makes for a pretty truffle. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any or else I would have done this as well. It’s surprisingly easy to start your own chocolaterie for the day!

3 thoughts on “Chocolat

Leave a Reply

