Almond Pulp Cookies — Three Ways

Here they are: three ways to use the leftover pulp from homemade almond milk. If you were to examine what I’ve eaten between the hours of 8am and 6pm this week, I’m pretty sure everything would involve almonds. But all used in such different ways that you would never know! Here are three almond pulp cookie recipes, all of which have no added sugar, are gluten free, and have minimal added ingredients. The first recipe I followed according to the directions on the blog, the second I found a recipe to use as a guideline and took my own creative liberties, and the third I completely made up. In my opinion, the recipes I made up were much better than the one I found…

Cookies!
Cookies!

The three cookie types are raw almond coconut macaroons, double chocolate cookies, and apple crisp balls. The chocolate ones were my favorite (you can’t really go wrong with lots of dark melty chocolate) and then the apple crisp ones were next best. I think I could play around a little more with the ingredients to produce more of a crisp-like consistency; the flavor was there but they were a bit dense and moist. The coconut macaroons tasted good and coconut-y but were pretty crumbly. But all three cookies are excellent options for using your almond pulp! Very easy recipes as well and can be no-bake if you prefer (except for the chocolate cookies, which use an egg).

Raw Almond Coconut Macaroons

The recipe recommends using a dehydrator, which I don’t have, so my instructions explain how to make this in an oven. Also, adding some extra nut butter could be a way of making this a little less crumbly. Recipe found here.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond pulp

1 ¼ cup unsweetened coconut flakes

4 tbs maple syrup

2 tbs coconut oil, melted

1 tbs vanilla extract

sprinkle of cinnamon

sprinkle of salt

            Mix all the ingredients together (I used my hands). Form into small balls and place on greased cookie sheet. Put the oven on the lowest setting (mine was on 200F) and place the cookies in with the door partly open. I cooked mine for about 2 hours, and they still tasted good, but the consistency may be a little better if you leave them in for longer. Makes about 16 macaroons.

Baking in the oven
Baking in the oven
Lots of coconut!
Lots of coconut!

Double Chocolate Chunk Cookies

You would never guess that these are fairly healthy since they are so good! Lots of chocolate and very chewy. Basic recipe found here, but I made a few changes.

Ingredients:

2 ounces melted unsweetened chocolate

1 cup almond pulp

2 tbs honey

3 tbs chocolate hazelnut spread (I used Justin’s—a healthy version of nutella)

1 large egg

¼ tsp baking soda

sprinkle of salt

½ cup of chopped dark chocolate

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix all ingredients together—a fork works pretty well for this. Roll into balls and place on greased baking sheet. Cook for about 20 minutes. I recommend eating them while they are still pretty warm and the chocolate is melted. Makes 12-16, depending on the size.

Raw cookie balls
Raw cookie balls
Lots of melted chocolate!
Lots of melted chocolate!

Apple Crisp Balls

A Will Run for Food original recipe! Celebrate the beginning of fall with these apple cookies bursting with lots of spices. It was also a good way to use some more of the applesauce that I bought to make the Cinnamon Roll Pie. I ate a few of these for breakfast too… Adding chopped fresh apples and maybe some brown sugar would also be a good addition. You could also make an apple crisp and substitute the almond pulp for the flour in your recipe.

Ingredients:

1 cup almond pulp (or slightly less, as I ran out)

½ cup unsweetened applesauce

½ cup quick cooking oats

2 tbs honey

1 tbs apple pie spice (mix of cloves, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice)

another 2 tsp cinnamon

2 tbs coconut oil, melted

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix all the ingredients in a bowl and form into balls. Place on a greased baking sheet. Bake for 20-30 minutes (keep on eye on them to make sure they don’t burn). Makes 12-16 depending on the size.

uncooked oatmeal

Looking a little crispier after baking
Looking a little crispier after baking

After 6 cups of almond milk, I had plenty of almond pulp for lots of cookies!

cookie mix

Leave a Reply

