(Healthy) Cinnamon Roll Pie

Did you know you can make a cake out of chickpeas? Gluten free, low in sugar, high in fiber and protein. These are the types of things you discover as a lightweight rower trying to find ways to still eat dessert. I was a little skeptical of the idea when my friend first told me about the recipe this winter, but I promise it tastes good. For the rest of the winter, we made chocolate chip cookie cakes out of chickpeas and sometimes people couldn’t even tell the difference! By pureeing the chickpeas with oats, the cake has a gooey but bready consistency, like a really moist brownie. Chocolate chip was the flavor of choice this winter, but when one of my favorite healthy dessert blogs, Chocolate Covered Katie, released the recipe for a cinnamon roll version*, I had to try it. Even though I am not a lightweight rower anymore, I would substitute this for dessert anytime! Or for dinner…

This winter's chocolate chip version
This winter’s chocolate chip version

I actually did end up eating this as an early dinner. I took out some of the sugar in the original recipe and used honey to make it a little healthier; besides the sugar there really were no unhealthy ingredients. I was pretty excited to refuel myself with this after some hard bike intervals. Served with Greek yogurt, it’s a healthy version of a cinnamon roll with icing. And feel free to eat the batter—no raw ingredients in this recipe!

forkful

Ingredients:

2 cans chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1 cup instant oats

¼ cup unsweetened applesauce

3 tbs coconut oil

2 ½ tsp vanilla extract

2 tbs cinnamon

½ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

Sweetener options: I used 2 packets stevia and 2 tbs honey, but the original recipe recommends 1 ½ cups sugar. If I had been making this for dessert, I would have used real sugar to make it a little sweeter.

This turns into cake!
This turns into cake!

Preheat the oven to 350F. Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl, then transfer to a food processor. Puree very well—you are essentially making hummus with the batter. Place in a greased pan. I sprinkled some extra cinnamon on top and tried to swirl it into the batter. Cook for about 30 minutes. But really just cook for as long as you feel like, as there is no such thing as undercooked chickpeas! Optional: serve with a swirl of vanilla Greek yogurt.

Before:

unblended

 

 

After:

Cake batter

Pre-cooking with some extra cinnamon on top
Pre-cooking with some extra cinnamon on top. I made it in a heart-shaped pan for fun.
Ready to eat
Ready to eat

P.S. I also ate this as an midnight snack with some vanilla bean cinnamon almond butter and then again with yogurt for breakfast… A very versatile food!

Cinnamon roll with "icing"
Cinnamon roll with “icing”

*recipe from from http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2011/12/05/deep-dish-cinnamon-roll-pie/

One thought on “(Healthy) Cinnamon Roll Pie

Leave a Reply

