Watermelon Gazpacho

It’s hard to believe that summer—the days of watermelon, ice cream, and fresh local produce—is almost over. I’m trying to fit as many recipes as I can into the last few weeks; even though you can eat ice cream and watermelon all year round, they never taste as good as they do at a summer barbeque. I also am starting work soon, so I need to cross as many recipes off of my to-do list as I can before I run out of time. Unfortunately, the list grows every time I talk to someone or open a magazine… At least I’ll never run out of ideas! This watermelon gazpacho recipe was recommended to me by a friend and can definitely be added to the list of watermelon recipes (a post that my sister also deserves a long-awaited shoutout for).

A mix of blended and unblended ingredients
A mix of blended and unblended ingredients

Watermelon and gazpacho, a chilled soup, are two things that belong to the summer, so fit this appetizer in before time runs out! Gazpacho is traditionally made with tomatoes; I have come to be able to tolerate them now, but they used to be something I avoided at all costs. Substituting watermelon for tomatoes made the soup a little sweeter, but the other vegetables and herbs made it still a savory, yet extremely light, first course. You can serve it at room temperature or make it early and give it time to chill in the fridge, which is what I did. Be prepared for lots of chopping and dicing…

Watermelon Gazpacho Recipe (from EatingWell)

8 cups finely diced seedless watermelon

1 medium cucumber, peeled and finely diced

1 small red pepper, finely diced

¼ cup chopped fresh basil

¼ cup chopped fresh parsley

3 tbs red wine vinegar

2 tbs olive oil

2 tbs minced shallot

¾ tbs salt

All the ingredients in a bowl
All the ingredients in a bowl

Add all the ingredients to a large bowl and mix. Then add 2-3 cups of the mixture to a blender/food processor and puree. Put the puree in another bowl and puree another 2-3 cups of the diced mixture. Add this and the rest of the unblended mixture to the second bowl. The result will be a nice mix of smooth soup with watermelon chunks and herb pieces. Serve right away or serve after chilling in the refrigerator.

Ready for dinner!
Ready for dinner!

http://www.eatingwell.com/recipes/watermelon_gazpacho.html

Leave a Reply

