Surprise Party

On Tuesday, I woke up and decided I wanted to have a party. Not really a big party, and not for any particular reason, but I felt like cooking something fun and having a nice dinner. I didn’t even invite anyone to the party except for my family (who I would have been eating dinner with anyways). I told my mom I was planning the menu and would do the grocery shopping and then got to work. I spent an hour or two looking through every magazine we had lying around, picking the best recipes I could that were seasonal and not too difficult… I will warn you though, the recipes I picked are not my typical, few ingredient, simple recipes for weekday nights in a hurry. They are also not all super healthy (which my dad was quite excited about). They aren’t unhealthy, but sometimes you just need a bit of butter for flavor. And I made no “healthy” substitutions in my dessert; although overall, it was still pretty light. In the end this was my menu:

Some of my dessert plans were a little ambitious--I will have to try one of the recipes at another party
Some of my dessert plans were a little ambitious–I will have to try one of the recipes at another party

As my dad pointed out, there wasn’t really a theme to the dinner; all the dishes were very different and wouldn’t normally be seen together on a menu, but they were all delicious. My hours in the kitchen planning, preparing, and cooking definitely paid off! It was a lot of fun even though there was no particular occasion. If you have the time, menu planning is a great way to add some excitement to any night. It was a little tough doing it by myself and having it all be ready and still warm at the same time. I made the cake in advance, along with the summer rolls. I started the chicken and then finished warming it up as the mushrooms were almost done. The salad was really easy to throw together along the way. Here are the pictures, and then I will post the recipes one by one. The chicken was everyone’s favorite, so I will start with that in my next post.

Time to Eat!

Time for dinner!

The chicken was everyone's favorite!
The chicken was everyone’s favorite!
Mushroom burgers on arugula
Mushroom burgers on arugula
So many greens!
So many greens! They did not even taste bitter with a dressing made from maple syrup, whole grain mustard, lemon, and olive oil
An interesting combination of flavors. I do need to work on my rice wrapper folding skills though...
An interesting combination of flavors. I do need to work on my rice wrapper folding skills though…

And then of course I took a lot of dessert pictures:

cake above

Meringue, whipped cream, strawberries, meringue, whipped cream, strawberries. Yum!
Meringue, whipped cream, strawberries, meringue, whipped cream, strawberries. Yum!

missing slice

slice

2 thoughts on “Surprise Party

Leave a Reply

