A Minty Morning

Today I had dessert for breakfast. Not really, but it kind of tasted like it. Continuing my smoothie trend from last week, I decided to experiment with a new flavor combination: mint and chocolate. New for breakfast at least—I am no stranger to this when it comes to ice cream time! It uses spinach to make it naturally green (because green mint chocolate chip is always the best), is full of nutrients, and low in sugar. Definitely a breakfast-worthy treat!

 

The stars of the smoothie, mint extract and chocolate
The stars of the smoothie, mint extract and chocolate

I was especially excited to try this because I used authentic Peruvian pure cacao powder, straight from the chocolate museum in Peru (yes, this exists) that my sister brought back from her trip. I topped my smoothie with cacao nibs for a bit of an extra crunch. Side note on health benefits of cacao nibs: a less processed form of dark chocolate, cacao nibs contain some of the highest antioxidant levels of almost any food.

Ingredients:

1 cup frozen spinach

1 frozen banana

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

6 ice cubes

a few drops mint extract

1-2 tbs unsweetened cacao powder

1 packet stevia for extra sweetness

2 tbs chia gel (see recipe in my Smoothie post)

1-2 tbs cacao nibs for garnish

Place all ingredients in a blender and mix. It works best if you add the liquid first and then work your way up with the easiest to blend ingredients. You may also need to add a little extra water. I also usually add the chia gel last and blend for only a short period of time. Feel free to garnish with fresh mint or add/substitute it for the mint extract. This is a version I will try next time.

Enjoy your mint chocolate chip breakfast!

mint smoothie

One thought on “A Minty Morning

Leave a Reply

