My Week of Smoothies

For the past week, I decided that I would have a smoothie every day for breakfast. One reason for this is due to my massive compilation of smoothie recipes on Pinterest. This started during my time in Southern California (typical), when I had a snickerdoodle smoothie at a Long Beach bar called NatureWell (recipe posted below). Another reason was because one of my favorite breakfasts in the clean eating challenge was the green smoothie. I felt great after drinking it, and it’s fun to sneak in some vegetables for breakfast. Even though I do like kale a lot, it would be tough for me to eat it plain first thing in the morning… I have also been reading a book called Clean by Dr. Alejandro Junger (highly recommended) that discusses how to detoxify your body and enable it to repair itself by, you guessed it, clean eating. Some of the measures are pretty extreme (eating a whole garlic clove lasted exactly one day), but one of the things he recommends for his cleanse is a smoothie every morning. When you are trying to repair and detoxify, he chooses smoothies because your digestive organs have to do less work digesting and can do more work repairing and getting rid of anything harmful. They also rehydrate you so you don’t have to wake up and chug water.

My favorite reason for drinking smoothies is their consistency. Even though juice offers a lot of nutrients as well, there is no fiber in it and I often get hungry pretty quickly. Smoothies can be a mix of anything and they use the whole fruit, making you feel fuller. Each smoothie I made was very different, and I still have many more recipes to try! Many of the recipes are from Dr. Junger’s book and a few are adaptations of ideas I found on Pinterest. All of them are clean and very nutritious. I tend to like sweet things, so I tried to make all of them have minimal sugar by using unsweetened ingredients; the only sugar comes from the fruit itself. I would also recommend smoothies after workouts as a way of rehydrating and replenishing energy stores.

Before making the smoothies, I recommend making some chia gel. It’s another good way of making smoothies thicker. Simply add 2 cups of water to 3 tablespoons of chia seeds. Let it sit for a few hours, and it will turn into a gel-like substance. You can store it for a week in the fridge to have on hand for smoothies at any time.

For all the smoothies, the directions are to blend together until smooth. I like pretty thick smoothies, so feel free to add more liquid. Or if you want it colder, ice is an easy addition.

 

Day 1: Chocolate Covered Cherry Smoothie This has both spinach and chocolate in it. Luckily, the chocolate beats the green stuff in color, so you can’t tell it’s there! Dessert for breakfast. From http://simplegreensmoothies.com/Recipes/chocolate-covered-cherry-smoothie

-14 cherries pitted (mine weren’t frozen, but it might be better if they are)

-2 cups fresh spinach

-1-2 cups unsweetened almond milk

-1 tsp cinnamon

-3 tbs cocoa powder (unsweetened)

-optional: add stevia or normal sugar

           

It's only slightly green--I think cocoa beats spinach!
It’s only slightly green–I think cocoa beats spinach!

 

Day 2: Creamy Blueberry Smoothie

            -1 cup almond milk

-1/2 cup frozen blueberries (or more)

-2 tbs almond butter

-2 tbs chia gel

-1 tbs shredded coconut

-I added ice cubes to this to make it a little thicker, but you don’t need to

blueberry smoothie
A tall glass of blueberries

 

Day 3: Peach Pie Smoothie

-1-2 peaches, preferably frozen

-1/4 cup raw pecans

-1 cup unsweetened almond milk

-2 tbs chia gel

-2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (mix of cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg, allspice)

-1 tsp fresh ginger

-6 ice cubes

-coconut flakes for garnish

A tropical morning
A tropical morning

 

Day 4: PB&J Smoothie Or more like, almond butter and jelly…

-1 frozen banana

-1 tbs almond butter

-1 cup raspberries

-1 tsp cinnamon

-1 cup almond milk

-2 tbs chia gel

-ice cubes optional

 pbj smoothie

Day 5: Refreshing Honeydew Smoothie This one was quite a pleasant surprise! I wasn’t sure how all the flavors were going to taste together, but honeydew and ginger is a delicious combination.

-1 frozen banana

-1/3 honeydew melon (or adjust to your taste)

-1 cup almond milk

-3 tbs chia gel

-1 tsp ground ginger

This might have been my favorite of the week!
This might have been my favorite of the week!

 

Snickerdoodle Smoothie: Like coffee, smoothies always seem to taste better when someone else makes them, but here is my attempt. It was successful in my opinion!

-1 frozen banana

-1 cup unsweetened almond milk

-1 date

-1-2 tbs almond butter

-cinnamon, cayenne (gives it a nice kick!)

 

Yummm
Yummm

 

A few more of my smoothie recipes that I have yet to try use oats or quinoa to thicken them and offer more of a meal. As mentioned in my previous post, avocados can also be used instead of frozen banana. I really like bananas in my smoothies, so this will be a tough substitution for me (which is why I have yet to try it…). I always use almond milk, but coconut milk could be a good substitution. I’m not sure about how regular milk would work since it may not seem quite as creamy.

 

3 thoughts on “My Week of Smoothies

Leave a Reply

