Welcome Home Chocolate Raspberry Tart

tart slice

Today my youngest sister returned from a three-week service trip to Peru! I celebrated her return the way I celebrate most things—by cooking something special. I have a huge to-do list of recipes (in the form of too many tabs open in my internet browser), so this was the perfect occasion to cross one off the list: Chocolate Raspberry tart. I made the tart in the shape of a C (my sister’s name is Caroline). I was very glad I had decided to make something special by the time we all received amazing Peruvian presents!

Due to my recent research on clean eating, the tart is gluten and dairy-free and contains no processed sugar. If you’re looking for a justification to eat dessert, the almonds and coconut oil contribute healthy fat and the raspberries give you your fruit and antioxidant servings. And if you just want a dessert that tastes good, this will do the trick too! Being healthy is just a side benefit. There was very little left by the time everyone had finished with it. Even my dad liked it, and he has no interest in making dessert healthy.

The recipe requires a few steps, as the crust is homemade and the layers each have to freeze separately so that they don’t mix. It consists of an almond flour crust, a layer of chocolate, and a layer of creamy pureed raspberries.

CRUST:

-2 cups almond flour

-1/4 cup maple syrup

-1/3 cup coconut oil (melted)

-1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt

-1 packet stevia (I think it would still be pretty good without this)

Mix all the ingredients in a food processor. Form the dough into a ball, cover with plastic wrap, and place in the freezer for about half an hour. Mine was a bit crumbly and pretty oily, so it was hard to shape, but freezing it solves this problem. After half an hour, press the dough into your pie dish or create any shape you want (I made a C). Freeze again for ten minutes, then place in the oven for about 20 minutes at 325°. Depending on how thick your crust is, the cooking time might vary, so I would recommend keeping a close eye on it. Let the crust cool completely before starting with the next layer.

A nice C-shaped crust! Mine was a little dark around the edges but still tasted good
A nice C-shaped crust! Mine was a little dark around the edges but still tasted good

CHOCOLATE LAYER:

-1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

-1/3 cup melted coconut oil

-1/4 cup maple syrup

-1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix all the ingredients together, then spread evenly on the crust. Place in the freezer until solid enough to prevent the next layer from mixing with it. I left it in the freezer for about 90 minutes, but that was more than enough time.

The chocolate layer before heading into the freezer
The chocolate layer before heading into the freezer

RASPBERRY LAYER:

-1 small container raspberries (about one cup)

-1 cup almond milk (unsweetened or sweetened—your preference)

-1 ½ cups almonds

-sprinkle of salt

Blend the ingredients together, then spread onto the chocolate layer. You may have a bit of extra (I did) depending on how large you made your tart. Decorate with raspberries more raspberries, then place in the freezer for another hour before serving.

Ready to eat!
Ready to eat!

This might be one of my favorite desserts I have ever made. It is pretty different from anything I’ve tried to make before, at least. I really enjoyed it because it wasn’t overly sweet. If you prefer sweeter desserts or don’t really like dark chocolate, try using sweetened cocoa powder and sweetened almond milk, more syrup or maybe even some real sugar. There’s also no such thing as too many raspberries in my opinion, so the top layer could use even more. The almonds helped give it a nice consistency, but I think the tart would still taste pretty good if you want to omit them. I have some extra raspberry filling and plan on eating it plain for breakfast tomorrow!

The tart did not last for too long...
The tart did not last for too long…
Leave a Reply

